On feeling uninspired

I’ve spent the week in Elba, which is a beautiful island off the west coast of Italy. It was really lovely. I didn’t do much there apart from relaxing, swimming and reading A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson, some parts of which I got a bit bored with and other parts I raced through in fascination. I particularly liked the part which dealt with relativity, quantum mechanics and stuff.

Just on Thursday when I was reading that part of the book, I planned to blog about it when I got back (I couldn’t access the Internet while I was away). I should have started writing a draft using my notebook while I was away, because when I got back I suddenly wasn’t thinking or feeling inspired about it when I got back. 

In fact that often happens with me. A couple weeks ago I was thinking a lot about UKIP and how and whether it can replace the Lib Dems as the UK’s third party, after one of their MEPs (Marta Andreasen) had called for Nigel Farage to stand down as Leader – and another one (David Campbell Bannerman, their former Deputy Leader) had defected back to the Tories. That was during the week and I didn’t think I had time to write about it, so I left it to the weekend. By then, I wasn’t really interested about it anymore and I tried but couldn’t really write about it.

I seem to be feeling particularly uninspired this weekend, and suffering from a case of writer’s block. I also feel restless. I don’t know why, but it might be to do with having just had an enjoyable holiday not doing much, and then the prospect of going back to normal life next week. I tried to answer the Daily Post’s question of what I can do to change the world yesterday, but didn’t really feel inspired about that either, although I do have an unfinished draft of it that I may finish when I do.

Anyway, as I can’t bring myself to write about anything else, I thought I’d blog about not being able to bring myself to write about anything else. I’ve got to write about something, because I’m promising myself I will blog at least once a week every week for the rest of this year, without fail (except when vacation dictates otherwise). I’ve already managed to do that most weeks, but with exceptions.

Leave a Reply

