Meditative music

Certain music really does have a meditative quality. For example, I recently bought the album Kind of Blue by Miles Davis. It’s the first jazz album I’ve bought.

This evening I was just listening to the album in the living room in front of a warm fire, almost as warm as the music itself, and there were candles beside the fireplace. I can honestly say that listening to the music in such a way really did have a spiritual effect on me. The longer you listen to music like that, the deeper it penetrates your being. It’s a form of meditation. I don’t know what it is, but there’s something specifically about the sound of the genres of jazz and soul that has a spiritual effect on one’s being.

Not to say that this effect is limited to those genres. Just now I listened to the 3rd Movement of ‘Electric Counterpoint’ by Steve Reich, a 20th century minimalist classical piece, and to ‘Planet Telex’ and ‘Fake Plastic Trees’ by Radiohead on YouTube, and they are all continuing that spiritual effect in me. Coldplay’s music, not their rather disappointing new stuff but in particular their second and third albums, also has that ambience to it.

That’s it, really. It’s ambient, atmospheric music – particularly jazz and soul, I think I’ll find as I listen to more of it – that moves me. Also anything that is just so melodic that it strikes an emotional chord. ‘Something’ by the Beatles is one of my favourite ones of those…   

One thought on “Meditative music

  1. Pingback: 5 songs I like at the moment « Present Day

Leave a Reply

