10 things about me

Hi. Apparently there’s this blog tag thing going on on WordPress, where one blogger writes ten things about him or herself, then nominates 10 other bloggers to do the same. Well here goes my list…

1. I’m indecisive. Very. This makes me quite slow in chess, for example. Also I entered into the D of E (Duke of Edinburgh) Award in December last year and I’ve done the expedition but I still haven’t decided on what else to do for it, when probably the rest of my school year has finished it by now.

2. I often think of a really good thing that I should have said or mentioned in a conversation hours after it. I find that with blog posts too. It’s often better for me to leave a finished post for a few hours, then come back and see if my unconscious mind has thought of something good to add or change.

3. I don’t have enough Christian friends – not enough friends generally but I really want to start making an effort to find friends who I can fully relate to. The Bible and all Christian leaders emphasise the importance of fellowship among Christians, so I’m definitely lacking in something.

4. I’m somewhat of a Radiohead nerd. Their music is amazing, though I’m actually beginning to get slightly bored of it now. But I’m still fascinated by them for some reason. I know too much about their setlists

5. I’m an INFP (Introverted, iNtuitive, Feeling, Perceptive), according to the most recent personality test I took.

6. When I was ten, I read The God Delusion and decided I was an atheist before I found out that Father Christmas wasn’t real. I eventually found that out when I was eleven, by reading a NewScientist article on whether it’s right for parents to tell their kids that he’s real.

7. I used to be fascinated, and still am quite interested, by the Pitcairn Islands. They’re a remote group of 4 subtropical Pacific islands owned by the UK, about halfway between New Zealand and Chile, with a tiny population of 67 people descended from the HMS Bounty mutineers. I’d love to go there but, as you might guess, it’s a very difficult place to visit.

8. I’m not really sure what I want to be when I’m older, although I’ve often considered being a journalist. I’d also like to study Philosophy at university.

9. I love improvising on the piano and I often come up with musical ideas in my head, which I record onto my phone if I can. But it’s often very inconvenient to have these ideas at random times, like in a lesson, knowing you’ll probably forget them.

10. I prefer holidays (vacations) where you actually do stuff, like walking in Switzerland or the Lake District, rather than holidays like the one I had in Greece, where you relax on the beach and go to bars in the evenings and it’s just England by the sea. There’s nothing wrong with that; it’s just not as good.

Instead of nominating ten people, I’ll just do what DL Aiden (whose blog I linked to with the “apparently” link) did and invite anyone to reply and post their ten things, either in the comments or on their own blog, linking it back to the comments section. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

